feed my sheep

Nutrition is so important. Kids today are eating so much sugar and fat and preservatives, and who doesn’t have a 4 year old Happy Meal cheeseburger not rotting in a lunchbox? Balanced meals are more valuable than ever. That’s why I feed my kids something every day. I buy food at the store and I give it to them, because they are hungry all the time. 

A key to knowing when your children are hungry: when the sporadic violence becomes consistent, it is time to feed them. A tool for making meals justifiable is relativism. If you, like me, live in a community where 23 year old mothers of 4 bake fresh bread from stone ground barley flour every morning and homemade yogurt with flax berries or something for snacks, then you have to maintain perspective. The goal is fullness. I want them to be so full that they cease screaming and live productive lives. Another goal is ease. Sometimes, most of the time, I don’t feel like standing up and chopping vegetables. Maybe my dream kitchen will have a sit-down workspace, so I can get up to 400 pounds while I cook. Anyway, that’s why I can look at a frozen pizza and think cheese, meat, protein. Total win for me! Hey, some moms feed their kids Coke in their bottles! Relativism.
I went through a brief phase where I was making chicken or fish every day, and reading ingredients and steaming vegetables and such. That was a productive few weeks, and I might do that again someday. In the meantime, McDonald’s has meat and cheese! Hey, some moms beat their kids. 
3 thoughts on “feed my sheep

  1. Deanna says:

    Haha! I love this post!

    Like

  2. wow. yeah, i thought i would be a much more healthy feeder of my child but so far, it's whatever i can grab and give her. i've got at least one thing working for me. i've fooled her into thinking frozen peas are yum like popsicles!

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Some Moms feed their babies RED KOOLAID in their bottles

    Like

Leave a Reply (name and email are optional)

