Hail to the Doof

Last night the President was on the Tonight Show with Jay Leno. He made a joke about the Special Olympics that might haunt him… as the mother of a future Special Olympian, I am mostly annoyed. 

There is no lower form of humor than mocking the disabled. Not only the disabled, but kids with greater challenges than most of us have ever faced, who then spend months and years training to be able to rise above their disabilities and do great things. These kids are overcomers. So the joke was offensive, but more than that it was so, so ignorant. 
I wish the President had shown more honor for the office of President and skipped the comedy circuit. 

Having a child with multiple disabilities has taught me a lot. I don’t think fat jokes are funny. I don’t think midget jokes are funny. I don’t think blind jokes are funny. I especially do not think “retard” jokes are funny. I think they are all low and cowardly. So if you want to make me laugh, grow up.

In other news, I feel the need to write something more positive here. I’m trying to think… ah yes, I am going to Texas in ONE week! That is very, very exciting! So there you go.

17 thoughts on “Hail to the Doof

  1. ooooooooohhhhh it was getting heated in here lsat nightFRIST!!!!!!!!!YIPPPEEE!i LIKE IT!!!!!fristfristfristfrist!!!!!!!n8….don’t be late!josh….i heard some excitingnews about you at the grocery store……..i can’t wait to find outmust i go check out your blog log?okyessicamy wonderful little songstresscan you decoupage me a littleplaque about your laundry formy laundry room?you and I have the sameheart song, beloved!maybe you could pen one exspecially for mesomething likea wrinkle in time orsuch!oki’ve been partying with the tweenies here in corn roethey had funi got videodi sound like Martha….ha!ok,back to the drdgery offiguring out what to renderCaeser…..

    Like

  2. don’t be alarmed joshit was a trusted source…..an anonymous sleuthwho flies ever underthe radarbut silently monitors usalll……come outcome outwherever you are!tagyou’re it!!!!

    Like

  3. agree w/jessprez should not do comedy tournot really becoming of a leadera leader may have a sense of humorthats always nice(i think God has one)but don’t do standupprez seems to want to be viewed as”cool”not cool

    Like

  4. Jess- agree. Very low. What is interesting is that Obama had just met earlier in the day with the sister of the president of Special Olympics. Was SO on his mind? How so?Kat- You talking about a bizzness?

    Like

  5. sounds like “g” was too busydigging up dirt on local money!great job, g!power point presentation pu leeeese!!!!!!also, i am mad that YOUget to do intercession whenMOG hits local soil….

    Like

  6. I do? I am leading intercession with radiant? Coooooollllll!-GI guess that is a TFH night. Yes!Kat, you will be right there at my side eating up the presence of God with me and pulling down the strongholds! PLUS! Just talked to Leah and TRED WILL BE BACK THIS TUESDAY! YES!-G

    Like

  7. yipppeei ocay ahhh!!!!is that from GunsmokeorBonanzaor where?i was just blogging about myaging skin andconfessing to sun worshippingin an earlier lifeand so where did that come from?and admittingthat my avatar is my alter ego of a younger melong long ago!!!!oh wellmiss Gi will be there by your side!always!/111i just told my hubbythe data you shared yesterdayabout the median income hereit is still hard to believetrying to figure out a gameplan for next week……jessica potato chowdersounds divinewill you put corn in it?or bacon?go for it girldon’t let the p b n j ers overrun you!right now it is too hot for that around here……i got out some capris and flip flopsand then i looked down at the glow in the dark feetthey were embarrassedso then i went to find mysneakers and suddenly theyfelt fine again…time for a pedicure!sorry, i am ramblingi am tired!!!!yessica i know you are excited!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply (name and email are optional)